Episode 2 Tracklist:

  1. NHT Intro – Rock Opening (Conversation)
  2. Why Do Fools Fall In Love (Joni Mitchell/The Happening/Spike Jones)
  3. Jump (David Lee Roth – Bluegrass Version)
  4. It Don’t Come Easy (George Harrison)
  5. It Came Out Of The Sky (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
  6. Wrote A Song For Everyone (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
  7. Rock & John Talk Opening Songs (Conversation)
  8. Rock & John Talk Acoustic Guitar & Voice And You’ve Got A Song (Conversation)
  9. Pinball Wizard (Pete Townshend)
  10. Ooh Baby Baby’ (Aretha Franklin & Smokey Robinson)
  11. Gaucho (Steely Dan) 0
  12. Forever Young (Bob Dylan)
  13. Rock & John Talk The Band’s ROCK OF AGES (Conversation)
  14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (The Band)
  15. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show (The Band)
  16. Like A Rolling Stone (Bob Dylan & The Band)
  17. Rock & John Talk THE WHO LIVE AT LEEDS & THE WHO LIVE AT HULL (Conversation)
  18. Substitute [Live At Hull Version] (The Who)
  19. Happy Jack [LIVE AT HULLl Version] (The Who)
  20. Rock & John Talk CHICAGO LIVE IN JAPAN (Conversation)
  21. Make Me Smile (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  22. So Much To Say, So Much To Give (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  23. Anxiety’s Moment (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  24. West Virginia Fantasies (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  25. Colour My World (Live In Japan) (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  26. To Be Free (Live In Japan) (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  27. Now More Than Ever (Live In Japan) (Chicago)
  28. John- Outro (Conversation)

Song Notes:

“Why Do Fools Fall In Love” (Joni Mitchell/The Happening/Spike Jones)

Once again, it’s me using my vintage Nakamichi 500 cassette deck back in the day. I would input two different sources into the deck and mix them live on the fly. The Happenings were kind of a joke band, perhaps influenced by Spike Lee. Joni Mitchell was just all smiles, touring around with Jaco Pastorius, Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Michael Brecker and Don Alias. It was probably one of the acclaimed jazz musicians’ better paydays and everyone involved was having fun. — John Stix

“Jump” (David Lee Roth – Bluegrass Version)

David Lee Roth is always up for fun, so it’s no surprise that he would accept an invitation to do a bluegrass version of “Jump.” — J.S.

“Pinball Wizard” (Pete Townshend)
“Ooh Baby Baby” (Aretha Franklin & Smokey Robinson)

Pete Townshend’s performance of “Pinball Wizard,” taken from the vinyl EP of a rare solo appearance at a late-1970s British charity event called THE SECRET POLICEMAN’S OTHER BALL, which begins our “Just A Guitar And A Voice” segment. Here we have two of my favorite live performances. This version of Aretha Franklin and Smokey Robinson performing a vocal duet on Robinson’s own “Ooh Baby Baby” was originally aired on the celebrated SOUL TRAIN television show. Anyone who thinks music can’t be powerful on TV hasn’t heard this one yet. — J.S.

“Gaucho” (Steely Dan)

What I love most about Donald Fagen’s solo demo of “Gaucho” here is you can hear all the vocals and instrumental bits … you can actually hear the whole song orchestrated on the piano. — J.S.

Ballet For A Girl From Buchanan (Chicago)

How cool is it that Chicago’s most popular piece is a seven-song 17-minute suite. This live performance from CHICAGO LIVE IN JAPAN — meaning the entire 1972 Japanese-exclusive album — was songwriter, bassist and vocalist Peter Cetera’s favorite live recording of the band – ever. At least that’s what he told me. (By the way, CHICAGO LIVE IN JAPAN is finally available on CD here in the U.S. and is well worth checking out.) — J.S.